inspirra, Saturday 02 October 2010 à 14:47
|
|
matttbe, Saturday 02 October 2010 à 15:33
|
|
Subscription date : 24 January 2009
Messages : 12573
|
Hello,
Is it a new applet for Cairo-Dock?
Ooh, it's interesting!!!
How did you do that? With Cairo-Dock API (coded in C) or with Cairo-Dock DBus API (which language?)
Don't hesitate to share this applet with us if you want  |
inspirra, Saturday 02 October 2010 à 15:53
|
|
Subscription date : 17 September 2010
Messages : 23
|
Oh! No! Sorry. (-:
This is sketch (fake) only, made with GIMP.
I'd like to write this applet by myself, but I'm not a programmer.
I just want to propose that someone make such applet.
Sorry for mislead! (-:
But I ready to testing, if somebody will make the applet.
Sorry for my English. |
SQP, Saturday 02 October 2010 à 17:32
|
|
Subscription date : 03 July 2010
Messages : 1081
|
not sure the second subdock would be possible with all first subdock different view.
but I guess that card selection would be easily done with right click menu list (even with icons) as first .
I already planned some changes on volume applet after my gui changes. I'd like to use the gauge renderer with new themes options
Some screenshots and video are visible on this thread http://www.glx-dock.org/bg_topic.php?t=4599&pos=40
I also think that pulse applications management would be cool, but I'm not sure if something wasn't already started for it.
(just to make a little test, could you also post your text translated in french please, because I think that english translation seem to be really good and I would like to compare)
you can already help developpers by testing new options if you want.
I have a listed my patches and comments on them : on my dev page |
Subscription date : 26 October 2008
Messages : 1904
|
Yes i ve started but my skills at coding are really poor
so it's not working but would like to see this implemented.
My branch is open to all on launchpad.. |
fabounet, Monday 04 October 2010 à 15:28
|
|
Subscription date : 30 November 2007
Messages : 17118
|
Taiebot65 now that you have a fan, you have to do your best !  |
inspirra, Monday 04 October 2010 à 16:10
|
|
Subscription date : 17 September 2010
Messages : 23
|
I looked at the source code of other plugins and examples from the wiki (Control_your_dock_with_DBus)...
I'll try to make this plugin. |
SQP, Monday 04 October 2010 à 16:24
|
|
Subscription date : 03 July 2010
Messages : 1081
|
wouldn't it be better integrated in the current sound applet ? |
fabounet, Tuesday 05 October 2010 à 10:48
|
|
Subscription date : 30 November 2007
Messages : 17118
|
qdbus is a mere wrapper around dbus, you don't need it.
as for Qt, you can easily do the same with Glib and GTK (I guess it's for the main loop ?)
yes it could be integrated into the current Sound applet, but it's built on top of alsa, so it would require a complete rewriting. |
inspirra, Friday 08 October 2010 à 19:01
|
|
Subscription date : 17 September 2010
Messages : 23
|
I did it!
This is just pre-pre-pre-alpha. (-: It lacks a lot of features.
Dependencies: bash-4 and xprop.
I need help:
1) How can I force the redraw after "SetIcon" and "SetLabel"?
2) Parsing of "pacmd" output isn't the best solution. But I don't know how to interact with PulseAudio server through "dbus-send" (http://pulseaudio.org/wiki/DBusInterface). Please, show me an example.
3) Please, show me an example of handling the "on_mouse_over" event.
4) How can I test if an app icon presents in the system and if this icon is available?
Demonstration is here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mv1Y-YleFx8
Plug-in is here:
https://docs.google.com/leaf?id=0B8NdQpUl55MlMmQ3MGE4YTMtOGM4MS00NmVlLWEzY2QtNzZjN2RhZmUwMzY2&sort=name&layout=list&num=50
ToDo:
- Control the master volume.
- Switching PulseAudio clients between audio devices (via the sub icons).
- Creating a sane configuration.
P.S.
I'm not a programmer, so my code is poor.
But I hope it would motivate someone to write better code.
SQP :
(just to make a little test, could you also post your text translated in french please, because I think that english translation seem to be really good and I would like to compare)
I use Gogle Translator mainly for the translation of the words, and then edit the translation by myself. (-: |
fabounet, Monday 11 October 2010 à 17:47
|
|
Subscription date : 30 November 2007
Messages : 17118
|
congratulations
you don't need to refresh the icon (it *should* be automatic)
as for the labels, maybe they are not completely refreshed, I might fix it if necessary
for exemples with dbus-send, please see the wiki for some concrete examples: http://www.glx-dock.org/ww_page.php?p=Control_your_dock_with_DBus&lang=en
why would you need on_mouse_over event ? it is not sent on the bus. |
inspirra, Monday 11 October 2010 à 21:48
|
|
Subscription date : 17 September 2010
Messages : 23
|
fabounet :
you don't need to refresh the icon (it *should* be automatic)
as for the labels, maybe they are not completely refreshed, I might fix it if necessary
Yes, it needs to be fixed, if possible.
Because, if "SetIcon" and "SetLabel" changes, they will change only if there will be mouse movement over the icon, or at the next scroll. Therefore, the shown label and the icon displays the previous value. |
Subscription date : 26 October 2008
Messages : 1904
|
Your applet is extremely promising
I am testing it actually and i have got a few proposal.
You should set up an emblem of the application name on top of a sound icon or do the opposite i think that could be quite cool and usefull to know which windows i am controlling.
The volume level should be set as a label on icon that would be as well really usefull.
The possibility to mute other applications via click on icon. I ve always found myself in trouble when i start to watch a youtube video as i am listening to music it's either i have to stop the music which i do not want (rhythmbox) or fiddle with the volume but they are not easily accesible. By clicking on this applet, i could if you could put these options in the config : Either on click mute the stream. or mute all other streams. I would prefer the second choice.
Middle click to reset all the stream to a certain value set up in the config menu.
Keep up the good work. |
Subscription date : 26 October 2008
Messages : 1904
|
I have uploaded my branch if you want to test it with a working dbus applet of pulseaudio you just need those qt libs.. :-(. I do not think the dbus applet for pulseaudio has been implemented in any distribution yet. That's why i had to use the veromix-applet
https://code.launchpad.net/~taiebot65/cairo-dock-plug-ins-extras/Subdock-2
But it's in python and you will need to read the readme.. You still need to launch the dbus applet manually.
To work easily with branches i recommend.. https://launchpad.net/groundcontrol with a direct integration in nautilus really easy to find work and to upload/create your branches..
|
inspirra, Tuesday 12 October 2010 à 00:14
|
|
Subscription date : 17 September 2010
Messages : 23
|
2 taiebot65,
After a week or two, I'll try to implement your suggestions, and make the necessary options in the config.
I need help.
I still can not find: how can I test if an app icon presents in the system and if this icon is available? Or how to extract window icon (_NET_WM_ICON)? |
fabounet, Tuesday 12 October 2010 à 11:08
|
|
Subscription date : 30 November 2007
Messages : 17118
|
if you have the name of the application (let's say "totem"), you can just use that as the icon name
most of the time the dock can find the correct image with it.
what about a sub-dock for each audio source ?  |
inspirra, Tuesday 12 October 2010 à 13:18
|
|
Subscription date : 17 September 2010
Messages : 23
|
fabounet : if you have the name of the application (let's say "totem"), you can just use that as the icon name
most of the time the dock can find the correct image with it.
Yes, but if the icon for the application name is missing, there will be empty space instead of the icon. Therefore, the program must check the availability of an icon. And if it isn't available, it must be replaced by my default icon (e.g. emblem-multimedia).
fabounet : what about a sub-dock for each audio source ? :)
Yes, I still plan to make it functional. (-: |
fabounet, Tuesday 12 October 2010 à 14:37
|
|
Subscription date : 30 November 2007
Messages : 17118
|
And if it isn't available, it must be replaced by my default icon (e.g. emblem-multimedia).
you're right
did you ever notice this case ? |
inspirra, Tuesday 12 October 2010 à 15:13
|
|
Subscription date : 17 September 2010
Messages : 23
|
I get a list of PulseAudio clients:
<...>SKIP<...>
client: 11380 <Audacious>
properties:
media.name = "???????????..."
application.name = "Audacious"
native-protocol.peer = "UNIX socket client"
native-protocol.version = "16"
application.process.id = "7303"
application.process.user = "andrew"
application.process.host = "inspirra"
application.process.binary = "audacious2"
application.icon_name = "audacious"
window.x11.display = ":0.0"
application.language = "ru_RU.UTF-8"
<...>SKIP<...>
index: 2486
<...>SKIP<...>
client: 11507 <ALSA plug-in [chrome]>
properties:
media.name = "ALSA Playback"
application.name = "ALSA plug-in [chrome]"
native-protocol.peer = "UNIX socket client"
native-protocol.version = "16"
application.process.id = "24920"
application.process.user = "andrew"
application.process.host = "inspirra"
application.process.binary = "chrome"
window.x11.display = ":0.0"
application.language = "ru_RU.UTF-8"
<...>SKIP<...>
For the "Audacious" the icon name presents as "application.icon_name".
But for the "Chromium" it's impossible to determine the icon (it is not a native pulseaudio client), because the only name is available is "chrome" in "process.binary", but there isn't the icon with the name "chrome". |
|