Home Forums Wiki Doc Install Extras Screenshots Source Code Projects Blog Users Groups Register
Glx-Dock / Cairo-Dock List of forums Problems at use | Problèmes à l'utilisation Temperature in system-monitor problem
The latest stable release is the *3.4.0* : How to install it here.
Note: We just switched from BZR to Git on Github! (only to host the code and your future pull requests)
Problems at use | Problèmes à l'utilisation

Subjects Author Language Messages Last message
Temperature in system-monitor problem [Bug #212]
Page : 1 2
4javier Italiano 34 fabounet [Read]
26 October 2011 à 12:47

4javier, Friday 23 September 2011 à 21:25 | Quote


Subscription date : 15 October 2008
Messages : 67
No, the emoticon was there just because this thread seems to have been forgotten for the second time both by me and Fabounet.
Could you link me the bugtrack? I can't find it on launchpad.

SQP, Friday 23 September 2011 à 23:08 | Quote


Subscription date : 03 July 2010
Messages : 1090
could you give it another try with the 2.4RC ?
as I said, there was a bug when a fan was at 0 RPM (you seem to have 2) that prevented temperature to work.
It fixed my problem, so I hope you had the same and that it's also fixed.

(and I wasn't sure as you posted 1 or 2 days after the fix)

4javier, Sunday 25 September 2011 à 14:55 | Quote


Subscription date : 15 October 2008
Messages : 67
I just tried 2.4.0~beta2 (didn't find rc). No news, same problems.
Main problem is temp not shown, after this will be solved, I will investigate on the other one: desklet that freezes if cu load monitoring is not selected.

fabounet, Monday 26 September 2011 à 17:14 | Quote


Subscription date : 30 November 2007
Messages : 17118
did you use the weekly PPA ? I think the version should be 2.4.0-rc (Matttbe can confirm that)

SQP, Monday 26 September 2011 à 17:19 | Quote


Subscription date : 03 July 2010
Messages : 1090
Distro : Archlinux.
But now that 2.4 is out, I guess it won't be long until you find it in one of your repository.
(maybe mail the package maintainer)

4javier, Wednesday 28 September 2011 à 00:25 | Quote


Subscription date : 15 October 2008
Messages : 67
Cairo-dock is not in the repo (I don't know why), just into AUR. But there's no problem, I can easily compile from source. The point was that I didn't find any rc, in fact in the timeline in launchpad 2.4.0 stable, come just after 2.4.0beta2.
Now I compiled 2.4.0 stable. In effect temp is shown...but is always 100°
Obviously is an erroneus detection, I post just the interesting values of my sensors
motherboard sensor with acpi interface
atk0110-acpi-0
CPU FAN Speed: 1328 RPM (min = 600 RPM)
CHASSIS FAN Speed: 0 RPM (min = 1200 RPM)
POWER FAN Speed: 0 RPM (min = 600 RPM)
CPU Temperature: +47.0°C (high = +60.0°C, crit = +95.0°C)
MB Temperature: +36.0°C (high = +45.0°C, crit = +95.0°C)

motherboard sensor with isa adapter
w83627dhg-isa-0290
fan1: 0 RPM (min = 58 RPM, div = 128) ALARM
fan2: 1328 RPM (min = 1081 RPM, div = 8)
fan3: 0 RPM (min = 42 RPM, div = 128) ALARM
fan4: 0 RPM (min = 10546 RPM, div = 128) ALARM
fan5: 0 RPM (min = 10546 RPM, div = 128) ALARM
temp1: +36.0°C (high = +29.0°C, hyst = +144.0°C) ALARM sensor = thermistor
temp2: +47.0°C (high = +80.0°C, hyst = +75.0°C) sensor = thermistor
temp3: +35.0°C (high = +80.0°C, hyst = +75.0°C) sensor = thermistor

coretemp internal to cpu sensor
coretemp-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
Core 0: +55.0°C (high = +74.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)
Core 1: +49.0°C (high = +74.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)
Core 2: +48.0°C (high = +74.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)
Core 3: +51.0°C (high = +74.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)

Thanks for the time spent on my problem

EDIT
there's a new. At startup it showed 93-94°, so it's not locked, simply I think it make the sum of many values, that after some uptime exceed 100°, that I think it's the desklet upper limit

fabounet, Wednesday 28 September 2011 à 12:03 | Quote


Subscription date : 30 November 2007
Messages : 17118
I'm quite sure it displays the highest value, or at least it should
I'll check the code, thanks for the bug report

4javier, Wednesday 28 September 2011 à 14:47 | Quote


Subscription date : 15 October 2008
Messages : 67
Hoping this could help debugging, I post the situation just after a resume-from-suspend, then with system quite cool.
Image of desklet and its left-click tooltip (you can see values are incoherent)
http://i.imgur.com/GvFn7s.jpg
And to complete bugtracking, the output of sensors at the same time
atk0110-acpi-0
Adapter: ACPI interface
Vcore Voltage: +1.18 V (min = +0.85 V, max = +1.60 V)
+3.3 Voltage: +3.30 V (min = +2.97 V, max = +3.63 V)
+5 Voltage: +5.17 V (min = +4.50 V, max = +5.50 V)
+12 Voltage: +12.36 V (min = +10.20 V, max = +13.80 V)
CPU FAN Speed: 1240 RPM (min = 600 RPM)
CHASSIS FAN Speed: 0 RPM (min = 1200 RPM)
POWER FAN Speed: 0 RPM (min = 600 RPM)
CPU Temperature: +32.0°C (high = +60.0°C, crit = +95.0°C)
MB Temperature: +32.0°C (high = +45.0°C, crit = +95.0°C)

coretemp-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
Core 0: +51.0°C (high = +74.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)
Core 1: +44.0°C (high = +74.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)
Core 2: +40.0°C (high = +74.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)
Core 3: +43.0°C (high = +74.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)

w83627dhg-isa-0290
Adapter: ISA adapter
Vcore: +1.09 V (min = +0.00 V, max = +1.74 V)
in1: +1.87 V (min = +1.07 V, max = +1.30 V) ALARM
AVCC: +3.30 V (min = +0.40 V, max = +2.88 V) ALARM
+3.3V: +3.30 V (min = +0.48 V, max = +0.99 V) ALARM
in4: +1.12 V (min = +0.51 V, max = +1.42 V)
in5: +1.62 V (min = +0.67 V, max = +0.26 V) ALARM
in6: +0.94 V (min = +1.35 V, max = +0.03 V) ALARM
3VSB: +3.39 V (min = +3.87 V, max = +1.68 V) ALARM
Vbat: +3.33 V (min = +1.09 V, max = +3.33 V)
fan1: 0 RPM (min = 43 RPM, div = 128) ALARM
fan2: 1240 RPM (min = 1081 RPM, div = 8)
fan3: 0 RPM (min = 42 RPM, div = 128) ALARM
fan4: 0 RPM (min = 659 RPM, div = 128) ALARM
fan5: 0 RPM (min = 79 RPM, div = 128) ALARM
temp1: +32.0°C (high = +140.0°C, hyst = +154.0°C) ALARM sensor = thermistor
temp2: +38.5°C (high = +80.0°C, hyst = +75.0°C) sensor = thermistor
temp3: +35.5°C (high = +80.0°C, hyst = +75.0°C) sensor = thermistor
cpu0_vid: +1.850 V

I think last sensor is not so precise, you should ignore it, hoping that SystemMonitor does the same too

fabounet, Thursday 29 September 2011 à 16:12 | Quote


Subscription date : 30 November 2007
Messages : 17118
thanks
so the applet gets the correct numbers, but for some reason the displayed value has no link with them. that's a big clue.

4javier, Tuesday 18 October 2011 à 18:07 | Quote


Subscription date : 15 October 2008
Messages : 67
any news?
Is there some kind of docs I can read to understand how communication between sensors and desklet takes place and try to debug?

fabounet, Friday 21 October 2011 à 15:47 | Quote


Subscription date : 30 November 2007
Messages : 17118
works for me, so I can't really debug it

if you could install the dock from the sources (really easy with our script), add some prints inside the code, that would be awesome

the code is in cairo-dock-plug-ins/System-monitor/src/applet-sensors.c

if you have difficulties, I can help you with this part

4javier, Monday 24 October 2011 à 11:25 | Quote


Subscription date : 15 October 2008
Messages : 67
I know that file, but watching the screenshot I posted above, I think problem is not there. The desklet itself get the correct values (see the middle click pop-up menù), wrong ones are shown just drawing graph/gauge.

fabounet, Tuesday 25 October 2011 à 16:02 | Quote


Subscription date : 30 November 2007
Messages : 17118
but the values written (71 and 1222) are wrong, so the problem is not in the drawing, but really in the calculation.
the many values from sensors are correctly read (as we can see on the dialog), but somewhere the final value is wrong.

4javier, Wednesday 26 October 2011 à 01:41 | Quote


Subscription date : 15 October 2008
Messages : 67
I thought that values printing was part of desklet drawing process. What's the method that send values to desklet?

fabounet, Wednesday 26 October 2011 à 12:47 | Quote


Subscription date : 30 November 2007
Messages : 17118
it's the function CAIRO_DOCK_RENDER_NEW_VALUES (I think this is the correct name, or at least it's something close).
and IIRC, for the temperature of the cores, we should display the highest value.

Problems at use | Problèmes à l'utilisation

Subjects Author Language Messages Last message
Temperature in system-monitor problem [Bug #212]
Page : 1 2
4javier Italiano 34 fabounet [Read]
26 October 2011 à 12:47

Post a message

Anti-spam filter 8 (*) times (*) 5 =
            
Did you know ? The Mail tag encrypt the email address to protect you from spam


Glx-Dock / Cairo-Dock List of forums Problems at use | Problèmes à l'utilisation Temperature in system-monitor problem Top

Online users :

Powered by ElementSpeak © 2007 Adrien Pilleboue, 2009-2013 Matthieu Baerts.
Dock based on CSS Dock Menu (Ndesign) with jQuery. Icons by zgegball
Cairo-Dock is a free software under GNU-GPL3 licence. First stable version created by Fabounet.
Many thanks to TuxFamily for the web Hosting and Mav for the domain name.