Home Forums Wiki Doc Install Extras Screenshots Source Code Projects Blog Users Groups Register
Glx-Dock / Cairo-Dock List of forums Problems at use | Problèmes à l'utilisation Temperature in system-monitor problem
The latest stable release is the *3.4.0* : How to install it here.
Note: We just switched from BZR to Git on Github! (only to host the code and your future pull requests)
Problems at use | Problèmes à l'utilisation

Subjects Author Language Messages Last message
Temperature in system-monitor problem [Bug #212]
Page : 1 2
4javier Italiano 34 fabounet [Read]
26 October 2011 à 12:47

4javier, Saturday 04 June 2011 à 02:25 | Quote


Subscription date : 15 October 2008
Messages : 67
Hi all
I have some problems with System-monitor desklet.

Glx-dock (OpenGL) 2.3.0~2, Archlinux, Openbox standalone+Cairo-comp-mgr, ati open-source with gallium 3d.
I wanna use that desklet just for Cpu temp and fan speed monitoring.
1) cpu temp doesn't get recognized (always 0). Is there a way I can try to change the device monitored? (I think that's the problem, don't ask me why...)
2) I don't need cpu load to be displayed (I use conky for that), but if I disable it, gauge visualization stop working (desklet freezes). Graph works flawlessy, but I don't like it.
3) Is there a way to monitor separately my 4 cores? I've seen that both load and temp are monitored in a single voice.

Thanks in advance.

matttbe, Saturday 04 June 2011 à 02:33 | Quote


Subscription date : 24 January 2009
Messages : 12573
Hello,

About the CPU temp and fan speed monitoring: Can you post the output of this command:
sensors

Guest, Saturday 04 June 2011 à 11:53 | Quote

sensors
atk0110-acpi-0
Adapter: ACPI interface
Vcore Voltage: +1.11 V (min = +0.85 V, max = +1.60 V)
+3.3 Voltage: +3.30 V (min = +2.97 V, max = +3.63 V)
+5 Voltage: +5.17 V (min = +4.50 V, max = +5.50 V)
+12 Voltage: +12.41 V (min = +10.20 V, max = +13.80 V)
CPU FAN Speed: 1222 RPM (min = 600 RPM)
CHASSIS FAN Speed: 0 RPM (min = 1200 RPM)
POWER FAN Speed: 0 RPM (min = 600 RPM)
CPU Temperature: +39.0°C (high = +60.0°C, crit = +95.0°C)
MB Temperature: +31.0°C (high = +45.0°C, crit = +95.0°C)

coretemp-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
Core 0: +48.0°C (high = +74.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)

coretemp-isa-0001
Adapter: ISA adapter
Core 1: +42.0°C (high = +74.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)

coretemp-isa-0002
Adapter: ISA adapter
Core 2: +41.0°C (high = +74.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)

coretemp-isa-0003
Adapter: ISA adapter
Core 3: +44.0°C (high = +74.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)


Do you rely on some external tool to get the values, or do you query directly device files under /dev?

matttbe, Saturday 04 June 2011 à 19:13 | Quote


Subscription date : 24 January 2009
Messages : 12573
Do you rely on some external tool to get the values, or do you query directly device files under /dev?
The sensors4 library is used to get these values.
Can you check if there was any problem with the compilation of the System-Monitor applet?

4javier, Saturday 04 June 2011 à 20:42 | Quote


Subscription date : 15 October 2008
Messages : 67
It seems there are no problems
[ 82%] Built target cd-system-monitor

sensors support is good too
Stable:
-- - with Alsa-Mixer applet: yes
-- - with iCal support: no
-- - with GMenu applet: yes
-- - with Gnome support: yes
-- - with KDE support: yes
-- - with XFCE support: yes
-- - with Keyboard-indicator applet: no
-- - with Mail applet: no
-- - with Me-Menu applet: no
-- - with Messaging-Menu: no
-- - with Screen Resolution support: yes
-- - with Status-Notifier applet:
-- - with Sensors support: yes
-- - with Terminal applet: yes
-- - with Weblets applet: yes
-- - with Xgamma applet: yes
-- - with Recent-Events applet: no
-- - with Python interface: no
-- - with Ruby interface: no
-- - with Mono interface: no
-- - with Vala interface: yes
-- - with Vala Translator (valac) : yes

4javier, Monday 06 June 2011 à 19:49 | Quote


Subscription date : 15 October 2008
Messages : 67
up

matttbe, Tuesday 07 June 2011 à 10:35 | Quote


Subscription date : 24 January 2009
Messages : 12573
Can you uncomment lines 197 and 355 in this file: cairo-dock-plug-ins/System-Monitor/src/applet-sensors.c and post the output of
cairo-dock |grep CPU

4javier, Tuesday 07 June 2011 à 23:56 | Quote


Subscription date : 15 October 2008
Messages : 67
Modified the sources, rebuilded, installed, launched and grepped: nothing printed.
Setting log level to debug, I just obtain:
cairo-dock -o -l debug | grep CPU
sysmonitor : 4 CPU/core(s) found

and
cairo-dock -o -l debug | grep cpu
debug : (/home/javier/dati/abs/cairo/cairo-dock-plug-ins/src/cairo-dock-plugins-2.3.0~2/System-Monitor/src/applet-cpusage.c:_get_cpu_info:111)
debug : (/home/javier/dati/abs/cairo/cairo-dock-plug-ins/src/cairo-dock-plugins-2.3.0~2/System-Monitor/src/applet-cpusage.c:_get_cpu_info:111)
debug : (/home/javier/dati/abs/cairo/cairo-dock-plug-ins/src/cairo-dock-plugins-2.3.0~2/System-Monitor/src/applet-cpusage.c:_get_cpu_info:111)
debug : (/home/javier/dati/abs/cairo/cairo-dock-plug-ins/src/cairo-dock-plugins-2.3.0~2/System-Monitor/src/applet-cpusage.c:_get_cpu_info:111)
debug : (/home/javier/dati/abs/cairo/cairo-dock-plug-ins/src/cairo-dock-plugins-2.3.0~2/System-Monitor/src/applet-cpusage.c:_get_cpu_info:134)

fabounet, Thursday 09 June 2011 à 12:47 | Quote


Subscription date : 30 November 2007
Messages : 17118
I don't know for your problem (maybe adding more traces could help), but about this:
I've seen that both load and temp are monitored in a single voice.

yep, the CPU load is the mean of the N cores. and temperature is the max of the N cores.

4javier, Thursday 09 June 2011 à 14:55 | Quote


Subscription date : 15 October 2008
Messages : 67
which traces do you need?

fabounet, Friday 10 June 2011 à 12:15 | Quote


Subscription date : 30 November 2007
Messages : 17118
I'm not really sure, I'll look at the code to see where we should pass.

4javier, Tuesday 14 June 2011 à 14:48 | Quote


Subscription date : 15 October 2008
Messages : 67
last up

fabounet, Thursday 16 June 2011 à 17:12 | Quote


Subscription date : 30 November 2007
Messages : 17118
oups, forgot this thread, sorry

fabounet, Friday 17 June 2011 à 12:41 | Quote


Subscription date : 30 November 2007
Messages : 17118
ok, here is the prints you can add in the source code:

applet-monitor.c
l.57
  1. ifdef HAVE_SENSORS

+ g_print ("sensors: %d; %d\n", myConfig.bShowCpuTemp, myConfig.bShowFanSpeed);


applet-sensors.c
uncomment l.197

l.125
+ g_print ("sensors CPU temp\n", func);

l.116
+ g_print ("sensors chip\n", func);

l.100
+ g_print ("%s()\n", func);

then please post the outputs of the terminal.

matttbe, Friday 17 June 2011 à 12:46 | Quote


Subscription date : 24 January 2009
Messages : 12573
ok, here is the prints you can add in the source code:

  • applet-monitor.c
    • l.57
      #ifdef HAVE_SENSORS
      + g_print ("sensors: %d; %d\n", myConfig.bShowCpuTemp, myConfig.bShowFanSpeed);
  • applet-sensors.c
    • uncomment l.197
    • l.125
      + g_print ("sensors: CPU temp\n", __func__);
    • l.116
      + g_print ("sensors: chip\n", __func__);
    • l.100
      + g_print ("sensors: %s()\n", __func__);


then please post the outputs of the terminal.

Guest, Saturday 02 July 2011 à 01:05 | Quote

Hi i have got exactly the same Problem. CPU usage ect. will be displayed but cpu temperature and fanspeed isn't avaiable! Is there a workaround?

4javier, Tuesday 05 July 2011 à 00:30 | Quote


Subscription date : 15 October 2008
Messages : 67
fabounet :
oups, forgot this thread, sorry

me too, but my fault is heavier, I'm the OP
I'm really sorry 'cause i'm such late.
I modified the sources as you asked for, but what I obtain it's just this loop
sensors: 1; 1
sensors: cd_sysmonitor_get_sensors_data()
sensors: chip
sensors: 1; 1
sensors: cd_sysmonitor_get_sensors_data()
sensors: chip
sensors: 1; 1
sensors: cd_sysmonitor_get_sensors_data()
sensors: chip
sensors: 1; 1
sensors: cd_sysmonitor_get_sensors_data()
sensors: chip
.........
.......
...

fabounet, Tuesday 05 July 2011 à 16:09 | Quote


Subscription date : 30 November 2007
Messages : 17118
ok, you have the line with "chip" but not the next one with "CPU temp"
so the problem is between the lines 116 and 125
I'll see if we can add more prints to have more details.

4javier, Monday 19 September 2011 à 16:16 | Quote


Subscription date : 15 October 2008
Messages : 67

SQP, Monday 19 September 2011 à 17:09 | Quote


Subscription date : 03 July 2010
Messages : 1090
I tracked a bug that prevented me to have the temp when one of the fan's value was 0.
Does your means that you had the same bug, and this thread could be marked as solved ?

Problems at use | Problèmes à l'utilisation

Subjects Author Language Messages Last message
Temperature in system-monitor problem [Bug #212]
Page : 1 2
4javier Italiano 34 fabounet [Read]
26 October 2011 à 12:47

Post a message

Anti-spam filter 6 (*) times (*) 8 =
            
Did you know ? The Math tag can display mathematical formula. Check LaTex syntax for more information


Glx-Dock / Cairo-Dock List of forums Problems at use | Problèmes à l'utilisation Temperature in system-monitor problem Top

Online users :

Powered by ElementSpeak © 2007 Adrien Pilleboue, 2009-2013 Matthieu Baerts.
Dock based on CSS Dock Menu (Ndesign) with jQuery. Icons by zgegball
Cairo-Dock is a free software under GNU-GPL3 licence. First stable version created by Fabounet.
Many thanks to TuxFamily for the web Hosting and Mav for the domain name.